Skip to content

Inside Mazda

Mazda Team Joest Doubles Down With Second Straight IMSA Victory

Mazda Team Joest scored its second-straight one-two finish in the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship on Sunday afternoon at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

“I’m so proud of the Mazda Team Joest crew and everyone at Multimatic and AER for scoring these two wins in a row,” said John Doonan, director of Mazda Motorsports. “It has been a complete team effort, with flawless execution from all four drivers, from the pit crew, from the engineering staff and from everyone at Multimatic and AER. We’ve said all along our goal was to achieve success for the Mazda brand and for the people who buy, sell and race Mazdas so this past week has been a dream come true.”

Oliver Jarvis and Tristan Nunez scored their first victory in the Daytona Prototype international class, with their No. 77 Mazda RT24-P crossing the finish line 1.699-seconds ahead of the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P of Jonathan Bomarito and Harry Tincknell.

“This was a monster team effort,” said Oliver Jarvis, a driver of the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P. “Forget which car won – this is two one-twos for Mazda. Results like this have been a long time coming. It’s the culmination of so many hours back in the workshop by the Mazda Team Joest boys and girls, by Multimatic and AER, to finally achieve our goal.”

With Bomarito at the wheel, the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P started the race from second position and moved into the lead on the eighth lap while Nunez, from fourth position, advanced to third position during his second stint. Bomarito and Tincknell would dominate most of the race, leading 87 total laps. At the final stop, a broken wheel gun slowed the pit crew of the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P, allowing the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P to inherit the lead and Jarvis led the field for thirty laps to the finish line.

“We ran a good strategy today and there was some aggressive racing, but we tried to not too any damage and keep the car clean,” said Tristan Nunez, a driver of the No. 77 Mazda RT24-P. “Leena Gade was on the radio running our strategy and engineering the car, and she did an amazing job. It’s an honor to work with her. This result shows the hard work and dedication that everyone on this project has put it, and it’s all falling into place now.”

Jarvis also recorded the fastest lap of the race at a 1:06.093, averaging 133.938 MPH around the 2.459-mile CTMP circuit.

For Jarvis and Nunez, their victory at CTMP was their third podium of the season after finishing in second position at Mid-Ohio and Watkins Glen, while second place also represented the third podium finish of the season for Jonathan Bomarito and second for Harry Tincknell.

“Mazda has worked years for this,” said Jonathan Bomarito, a driver of the No. 55 Mazda RT24-P. “To have two one-two finishes back-to-back, it’s a dream.”

The next round of the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship will be August 2-4 at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.